Waterlilly

When I was younger, my favorite dream
was to pick a waterlily. They lay across the swaying lake
like bananas sliced on oatmeal, fitting into each other
like locks, teeth. Trash and ghosts of oil
wrapped around their legs like clingy children.

I thought a green circle
would make a perfect pet. Imagined suspending it from the ceiling,
as if my bedroom was a lake, watching it float
like a UFO. I stared into the greengreengreen
like a crystal ball
and wondered what it would taste like.

 

http://redwolfpoems.wordpress.com/2014/06/26/prompt-215-talk-back-to-a-poem/

This is a response to At The Mouth of Birdsong by Barbara Young. https://redwolfjournal.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/barbara-young/

2 thoughts on “Waterlilly

  1. I like this poem for a couple of reasons: 1) greengreengreen, and 2) your image of the waterlily collecting trash and oil under its petals reminds me of a dream-catcher…and what a wonderful concept.

Leave a Reply

