The house built at the edge of the cliff

My bones are feeling thin again,

thin as water, running into the canal of my rib cage,

where my heart, a nervous rabbit,

twitches, sticks its nose through the bars.

Breathe in, breathe out. I wait until the sharp stars in my chest

fadeaway into blue sky. I keep swearing I will not let myself

go melting into madness, drop out of myself

while sitting still. But my smile is getting thin again.

I keep smiling like my smile is a chain

wrapped around my neck, pulling tighter and looser,

teasing me: will I choke today?

Breathe in, breathe out. Blue sky, blue sky.

I try not to listen to the wind.

 

http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/we-wordle-12/

4 thoughts on “The house built at the edge of the cliff

  1. Oh, heavens. This is gorgeous.
    “I wait until the sharp stars in my chest

    fadeaway into blue sky.”

    “Breathe in, breathe out. Blue sky, blue sky.”

    Just stunning.

Leave a Reply

