Donuts!

We walk the chessboard

of the streets. Among the looming office buildings,

churches look like pawns.

Shops scroll by. People go in

and come out with dinner:

meatball subs, canollis,

Oreo mint donuts and decaf.

Some people throw scraps of bread

to the pigeons. Someone

yells to a taxicab. A yard sale

is just folding up. “Donuts!”

Says my brother.

We go into the shop.

As he chomps on

what is mostly icing,

the music orbits my head

and I stare out the window

to see the last bits of evening light

swim out of the sky.

 

 

Written for We Write Poems prompt 205.

4 thoughts on “Donuts!

  1. Such visual work…your details drew me right in and I love how your closing, “last bits of evening light/swim out of the sky.” it brings to mind the scraps of bread for the pigeons…for me any way. Lovely writing!

  2. I like how you play with focus here. You, on the sights, sounds, and smells of your surroundings (especially “the music orbits my head/and I stare out the window/to see the last bits of evening light/swim out of the sky”) and him on the donuts. Those chessboard streets and pawn churches, too.

    -Nicole

Leave a Reply

