I keep feeling things I am not supposed to feel

Some days I have wind

instead of bones

and I am knocked from wall-to-wall

from the inside.

Some days I have frost instead of skin

and the slightest touch sends cracks

trailing like kite tails

up the ice.

Some years, my spirit nests

behind a bone door behind my heart,

draped in so many oceans of shadow,

for a long time, I did not know it existed.

When it limped out,

I realized that report cards do not sum up years

anymore than marriage papers sum up couples.

Still, I cannot forget

that my heart is a giant feelings chart

forever being poked like a button that won’t work,

if you’re happy, smile.

Scared? You’re angry, not scared. Why would you

be scared of me?

 

  Thispoem was written for we wordle number six.

2 thoughts on “I keep feeling things I am not supposed to feel

  1. I understand how you feel when you say somedays you have frost instead of skin.

    The whole poem is great…I love these lines the best: “Some years, my spirit nests/behind a bone door behind my heart,/draped in so many oceans of shadow”.

    Once again, some amazing writing.

    -Nicole

Leave a comment