My best friend in my worst year

We played the game where I had to name

the color of each marker by it’s cap.

Then we drew.

I was too scared to draw anything important,

so I drew trees, bananas,

the Fudgsicles we slurped without it being rude

(no Table Manners chart).

We made cootie catchers

full of funny answers:

“Go eat your vegetables and try again”.

I used to kiss mine.

I’m sure I have it somewhere.

(This is for the We Write Poems Cultivating Old Memories prompt: http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/prompt-184-cultivating-old-memories/)

6 thoughts on “My best friend in my worst year

  1. Abby, thank you for commenting on my poem. I do appreciate it. I liked this poem you wrote so much that I began reading your other posts. I love how in touch you are with your feeling and how well you express them. I am bookmarking your blog so I can check in from time to time and read your thoughtful posts.

Leave a Reply

